St Giles House Hotel, the perfect place to stay in Norwich,
The most stunning place to hold your special wedding day, to hold your dinner parties or conference meetings. The place for a delicious Afternoon Tea and the place for a break away.
With a choice of 24 unique rooms including suites,also our Decorative breakfast area, stylish bar, two relaxing lounge areas, a stunning outside terrace with a living wall and indulgent treatment rooms in our Spa, relax with quality, comfort and enjoy the quirkiness unique of St Giles House Hotel. We are a dog-friendly hotel (subject to ground floor rooms only.)
Our delicious menus include; Afternoon Tea, Casual Dining Menu, Sunday Roast and more . We have something to offer everyone. (Please note, any booking for 8 or more requires a pre-order)
The bustling Norwich city Centre has so much to offer; independent shops, bijou bars, yummy bakeries, the largest open-air market in the country and an abundance of culture;amble through our city's ancient cobbled lanes and visit our galleries and museums.
St Giles House is one of the oldest hotels in Norwich, a grade 11* listed building and was built in 1852. The reason behind it being star listed related to the 15th-century undercroft in the cellar. The undercroft was at the original street level. However, this building did not start its life as a hotel. This spectacular building was originally the HQ for the London and Norwich Fire Insurance Company. After being destroyed - rather ironically by a fire in 1900/1901, the famous architect George Skipper designed a brand new HQ for their General Accident Department.
During the second world war, secret government meetings took place in our Walnut Suite on the 3rd floor. Government and military officials would traverse secret underground tunnels that go all the way from St Giles Church to the undercroft/cellar area at St Giles House and hold wartime meetings in the board room.
In 1968 much of the telephone house (as it was locally referred to) was knocked down, although the modern-day restaurant area was subsequently added. By this time the Regional GPA became part of the British Telecom until about 1990 when the building gradually became redundant and soon derelict.
The hotel was then purchased in 2000 with the intention of transforming it into a Boutique Hotel, Bistro & Spa and officially opened its doors in October 2005.
Please note that we are not currently offering evening meals at present. Accept for parties of 15 or more.